Recipe #25: Biscuits

It has always been a dream of mine to be able to whip up a batch of homemade biscuits. But with so many recipes calling for a food processor, I thought homemade biscuits would be a recipe that I would need to wait to take on. After many episodes of British Bakeoff, where they are often making doughs similar to a biscuit dough with their hands, I decided it was worth the attempt.

So this Sunday morning, when I was up rather early for a Sunday (Marathon training does weird things to your sleep schedule), I took on homemade biscuits.

I turned to Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything, a cookbook I knew would have instructions about how to make it without a food processor. Even better, it included many variations for the buttermilk biscuit recipe, including what to do if you didn’t have buttermilk, which was me in this case.

Following Mark’s instructions, I added the butter to the dry ingredients by rubbing together the butter and dry ingredients until it was distributed. Reading the instructions and the ingredients list I was a little wary of the success. But it worked! After adding the last ingredients, and rolling out the dough, I was pretty confident the biscuits would turn out well.

And they were!

I had them for breakfast served alongside a fresh batch of homemade butter – a perfect Sunday morning breakfast! They may have just been missing some gravy, but that will be for another morning.

Leave a Reply

