Recipe #20: Spicy Sweet Potato Empanadas

I have had this recipe earmarked for awhile. When I was invited to a chili cook-off, I thought it would be an excellent time to try this dish.

The recipe is from Ina Garten’s newest cookbook Cooking With Jeffrey. I have loved digging into the cookbook and trying the recipes. I have tried many new things through Ina’s recipes, and following one of her recipes for my first attempt of empanadas felt like a great idea!

Ina’s directions were straightforward and easy to follow. Her recipe includes orange juice and maple syrup to create a unique flavor combination for the sweet potatoes. I didn’t have chipotle chili powder, so the spicy paired with the sweetness was missing. She also instructs you to use puff pasty that is baked, instead of the traditional empanada process. I enjoyed the puff pastry, and it paired with the sweet potato filling very well. The biggest challenge came from my decision to double the recipe, and then making more mini sized empanadas. The outcome: it took me a fair amount of time to stuff the empanadas, and there was too much filling left over.

Despite the time it took to fill the empanadas and the waiting around that is required when working with puff pastry, they were delicious! When I make them again, I will need to make them bigger and roll the pastry thinner to be able to fill them with more filling because the filling thinned out a little in the oven.

Another treat for the taste buds from Ina! I can’t wait to see what I’ll make next from her books.

 

Leave a Reply

