Recipe #19: Lemony Arugula Spaghetti Cacio E Pepe

Warning: Spaghetti Carbonara was only the beginning of my many pasta posts that will be coming over the new few months. I am running the Chicago Marathon in October, and lean towards eating pasta the night before long runs. I picked this dish because I would also be making sweet potato empanadas (post to come) and wanted something simple to make, but different. This recipe had been ear marked for a while because it sounded new to me and it was simple, so Chrissy Teigen’s Lemony Arugula Spaghetti Cacio E Pepe was put on the menu.

The cooking instructions were similar to the Spaghetti Carbonara I had made. The ingredients are what separates the two dishes. Chrissy’s dish adds a lot more flavor to create some heat, while Spaghetti Carbonara relies on the richness of three of the main ingredients. And because of the additional ingredients it required more prep to make sure everything was added to the pan and the pancetta did not burn, making the dish a little more difficult.

This may be the first dish I have made for the blog that I am unsure if I will make again. It was tasty and the flavors blended well, despite it being less lemony than I imagined. I am on the fence about making it again due to the level of spice. It was really hot! I made enough for dinner tonight, and there is a part of me that wants to eat it, and there is a part of me reminding myself how spicy it was. If you love spice and can handle hot food, definitely check out this dish. If not, may be worth trying and cutting down the spice or just moving on to a different pasta dish. You can’t love them all!

Leave a Reply

