Recipe #17: Shakshouka

Have you heard of shakshouka? I had not until a few months ago when my sister made it for dinner and it looked delicious. The dish is eggs in a tomato sauce, often served with a side of bread for dipping. YUM! The dish has a Tunisian origin and can be found in the Middle East and North-Africa. The recipe I ended up trying from Tori Avery, talks about how it is made in Israel.

The dish is known to be eaten for any meal and I thought it would make a perfect post long run brunch meal, so I set out to create Shakshouka.

In my head, I understood the recipe to be tomatoes, eggs, and spices, but of course the recipe required more ingredients. It includes onions and peppers, which make the sauce more into a stew! Tori’s recipe calls for chili power, cumin, and paprika to add a nice depth of flavor to the dish.

The directions are pretty straight forward, and if you have made a stew, soup, or chili, easy to do. In short – you make a tomato stew. Once the tomato sauce has reached a stew like consistency, you add eggs into the top, cover and let it sit while the eggs cook, peaking to check their consistency.

Once the eggs were done, I served it hot off the stove, with a side of my homemade challah for dipping. It was as delicious as I imagined!

IMG_5013

However, the eggs were not as runny as I would have liked. Tori discusses in her post how she likes her eggs well done, and it should have been a dead giveaway that her cooking times would have delivered well done eggs. Next time I make the dish I will adjust the times to simmer the tomatoes longer on their own, and add the eggs closer to the end.

Despite the eggs being done a little more done than our liking we still enjoyed the dish, and it is being added to the many dishes I will make again.

Leave a Reply

