How I Make: Black Beans

I never liked black beans, until my sister made them a few years ago. They were delicious, looked easy, and on the less expensive side. So I decided I would try what she does, and over the years perfected them more and more. Typically I eat them over rice, but recently I have discovered they go well with soft polenta. I have been using Mark Bittman’s polenta recipe from How to Cook Everything because of its simplicity.

I wanted to share how I make black beans because it is something I have become quite proud of, and something I have tweaked and experimented with. (I even tried to look for recipes online, and couldn’t find anything similar).

Ingredients

1/2 red onion – diced

1 15.5 oz can black beans, rinsed

1 clove garlic – minced

1/2 can of water

1 teaspoon cumin

1/2 teaspoon chili

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground pepper

1/4 teaspoon paprika

Olive Oil

Directions

  1. Heat olive oil in a sauce pan over medium heat.
  2. Add garlic and sauté until fragrant.
  3. Add onion and sauté until soft.
  4. Add black beans, spices, and 1/2 a can of water, using the can the black beans came in to measure. Mix to incorporate the spices.
  5. Bring to a boil over high heat, cover, and lower to simmer for 15 – 20 minutes.
  6. Serve over rice or soft polenta.
Leave a Reply

