Recipe #7: Creamy Parmesan Polenta

I had recently looked at a list of inexpensive easy dinners on a blog, and noticed polenta was mentioned as a good inexpensive dish. I may have only eaten it once and definitely hadn’t made it, but if it’s not expensive it’s definitely worth making. Can one have too many inexpensive meals at their fingertips – nope! Before going into pinterest I decided to look through my collection of cookbooks for a ecipe and found Ina Garten’s Creamy Parmesan Polenta in her new cookbook Cooking For Jeffrey.

Ina Garten may be one of the most talked about chefs in my family. Her cookbooks were some of the first I ever dug into. One of the first recipes I remember making was an oatmeal scone. I would make the dough, and then freeze them already cut into their shape, and bake one or two in the morning for a freshly baked scone. I was given Cooking for Jeffrey as a gift from my boss because I talk about cooking with Patrick often.

Armed with a Barefoot Contessa recipe, I gathered together my ingredients and was ready to take on a new dish.

The steps were very easy to follow  – you essentially add everything into a sauce pan, but she walks you through the order. I only needed to make one substitution: sour cream for crème fraiche. The hardest part was adding the cornmeal because she tells you to whisk so it does not have lumps, a skill I will need to work on because mine had lumps.

Despite the lumps, it was filling and quite tasty! She recommends serving it with meatballs or roasted veggies, so I served mine with meatballs (frozen store bought because I only tackle one new recipe at a time). I am glad I went with the meatballs, but I can imagine how tasty it will be with the vegetables.

I look forward to trying other polenta dishes and adding polenta to my easy go-to dinner options. And I am looking forward to the leftovers.

 

Leave a Reply

