Recipe #1: Pan Seared Salmon

A few weeks ago my sister informed me that Food52 does a cookbook bracket. Of course I had to check it out. And man, oh man, there were so many fun cookbooks to learn about. I wanted to buy them all! But thinking about the lack of space in my apartment and how my wallet does not want to feel lighter, I realized I could request them from the library, and requested a couple.

The first one I received was Taste & Technique by Naomi Pomeroy. I was thrilled when I saw the notification it was available, and then panicked. I picked the book up on a Monday and could only have it for 2 weeks, during which I would be out of town for a weekend. I was worried I wouldn’t really get to dig in, pick the perfect recipe, buy all the ingredients and try it. Remembering salmon in my freezer and a snow day coming up, I hoped she would have a recipe for salmon that would only need ingredients I already had.

Fortunately she did!

Her pan seared salmon recipe fit the bill. Typically when my better half and I make salmon, we roast it in a delicious sauce, so I was excited to try something simpler. Most importantly, I had always seen chefs pan sear meats and stick that exact same pan in the oven. I had never tried it, and was eager to do so.

Knowing that this was going to be a basic but delicious recipe, I proceeded and made Naomi’s pan seared salmon (with the recipe halved).

And it was really easy to do. She wrote the instructions in such detail the recipe is easy to follow. But it did require a lot of attention, once I began cooking, there was something that needed to be done. Granted, I will use her recipe again, and with practice, feel confident that it will be like riding a bike.

It turned out delicious and I enjoyed every bite! (And of course made enough for left overs). I served it with roasted sweet potatoes and steamed green beans, making a perfect meal on a snowy evening.

 

 

I am not going to go out and buy her book immediately, but I would like to own it one day, and strongly recommend checking it out!

Leave a Reply

